POLYUREA DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION EUROPE

Polyurea ?

The concept of 'Polyurea Spray Elastomer Technology' was introduced about twenty years ago by chemists at Texaco Chemical Company (now Huntsman LLC) in Austin, Texas.

This new application was based upon the reaction of an isocyanate component with an amine blend to produce a polyurea elastomer system.
This catalyst-free isocyanate/amine reaction is very rapid – usual working times (gel times) is within a few seconds – and thus requires specialized two-component high pressure mixing and application equipment.

This reactionspeed is a key advantage of polyurea spray coatings as it is fast, predictable and consistent.

Making a comparison with polyurethane and hybrid coating systems would make little sense because of their tight processing parameters such as temperature and humidity ranges and the requirement of high catalyst packages, solvents, ...

As a pioneer in the Benelux FlexGuard® has developped a range of pure polyurea formulations, ElastoGuard®, for a wide range of applications with the cooperation of the inventors of the concept polyurea spray elastomer technology.

POLYUREA DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION EUROPE

Polyurea ?

Le concept du 'Polyurea Spray Elastomer Technology' a été introduit il y a une vingtaine d'années par des chimistes de Texaco Chemical Company (maintenant Huntsman LLC) à Austin, Texas.

Cette nouvelle application était basée sur la réaction d'un composant isocyanate avec un mélange amine à fin de produire un système elastomérique polyurea.
Cette réaction isocyanate/amine sans catalyseur est très rapide – temps ouvert (temps de gel) habituels sont de quelques secondes – et par conséquence exige un équipement d'application spécialisé à deux composants et mélange à haute pression.

Cette vitesse de réaction est un avantage clé du polyurea spray coatings parcequ'elle est rapide, facile à prédire et consistent.

Faire une comparaison avec du polyurethane ou des systèmes hybrides aurait peut de sense à cause de leur paramètres de mise en oeuvre très strictes comme la bonne température et humidité et la nécessité de catalyseurs, solvents,...

En tant que pionier au Benelux FlexGuard® a développé une gamme de formulations de polyurea pur, ElastoGuard®, pour une vaste domaine d'applications avec la collaboration des inventeurs du concept 'Polyurea Spray Elastomer Technology.